Café Society*

Why take a child to a coffee shop
That’s packed to the gills with adults
But no-one to actually play with?
-In its way, both neglect and insult!
I’m sitting very nicely
Stretching toward the table,
But frankly, all this ambience
Is more than I can bear.
I’m looking all around me
But no-one really cares.
And I’m struggling to keep my balance
On this horrid shiny chair.
My instinct as a toddler
To be down on hands and knees,
This marble floored arena
Irresistible to me…
But nobody’s listening:
They’re busy with themselves.
I don’t know why they bring me here:
…What if I was to raise hell?!

 

* … which in no way excuses pretentious behaviour…

Leave a Reply

