WOW!*

I’m a Woman on Wheels!!*
How great that feels-
Ending the rabid self- justification
In the Bus-versus- Taxi conversation
Wherein I argue both cases with vigour,
The fee for the latter significantly bigger:
The argument for ergonomics
Far outweighing economics,
Travelling directly from door to door
A small investment worth paying for.
A simple luxury, worth the fee
Given the expediency;
From door to door without the pressure
And knowing I’ll arrive that little bit fresher(!)
Than if I’ve tackled the merciless peak
That I’ve been ascending for the last week:
A vertical plain disguised as a pavement
The daily focus of my torment,
Japanese Endurance¹ not my thing
(Preferring as I do to sing,
Wherein such pacing has its place,
Step-clap on the spot with a smile my face;
Wondering now how far we stride
While never departing each other’s side…)
Mr Mechanic ², my thanks indeed
For renovating my knackered steed.
And for the absence of inquisition
On my vehicle’s somewhat unkempt condition…

 

* An official acronym!  http://womenonwheelsmagazine.com/

¹A Japanese game show first encountered on the Clive James Show in the 80s- Well worth googling!   https://youtu.be/4mRklA6KRmo

²Eternal gratitude to my local garage!

Leave a Reply

