Blank Verse.

Dear God,
I know this is meant to be a big time of year for you.
And I know you have your hands full with major world catastrophes,
The consequences, one might argue,
Of the thorny contribution of man’s enactment of free will.
But the thing is,
I really have an issue
With your apparently casual disregard for my mum.
She’s walked your road for the whole of her life,
Her faith and commitment challenged
Way beyond the realms
Of general human endurance.
While little by little,
You have seen fit to steal away tiny pieces
Of her Self.
There’s no point in my asking why.
I just want you to know,
In the name of Love,
How much more she deserves
Than that.

Leave a Reply

